Faith means leaving your eyes behind…

Fake Stripes.

“A zoo in Gaza has used hair dye, masking tape and a paint brush to turn transform two donkeys into fake zebras.
Facing Israeli restrictions on the importation of animals, zoo owner Mohammed Bargouthi decided instead to paint the two white female animals, delighting Palestinian children.
Mr Bargouthi told the Reuters news agency that painting the animals was much cheaper than paying $40,000 to smuggle real zebras through tunnels into the Gaza City.”
zebra_1
This aritcle made me wonder about my faith. Was I just painting on the “hair dye” of a Christian, or was I truly a Christian beneath the dye?
I recall my early days as a “Christian”. I was just like the donkey; putting on a facade to the world, but on the inside I hadn’t really changed; I hadn’t personally encountered the love of Christ. Every week I went along to Youth, sang the right words, said the right things, listened to the right messages, but none of it meant anything to me. It began to feel like routine, and I went only because I thought that was what a “good Christian” would do. But then I realised that after “encountering God” every Friday night, by Saturday, my “love” for him had dissolved, and for the rest of the week God was pushed aside, until Friday night came and the cycle began again. I wasn’t truly a Christian, because I had not changed at all.
God finally spoke to me through a speaker one weekend. She said “Being a Christian is like drinking water. You cannot survive just by drinking on Friday night, and for the rest of the week not drink at all.” Her words cut through me “sharper than any double-edged sword” (Heb 4:12) and “Immediately, something like scales fell from [my] eyes, and [I] could see again.” (Act 9:18)
So I challenge you to really live as a Christian, a true follower of Christ, to be transformed on the inside as well, not just on the outside.

Love,
Sera

One response

  1. I usually donít post in Blogs but your blog forced me to, amazing work.. Kind regards from france

    October 23, 2009 at 10:00 am

Leave a Reply

