Faith means leaving your eyes behind…

Loss and Security

I hear so much about people being hurt when “people leave” in in their lives. I never really got what they were so upset about and, recently, it’s been bothering me. I think now I know. In the life I live, the life my parents chose, people are always going and coming. That is just how it is. You meet someone and, if you like them, you make sure you really get to know them really well. You cherish every minute you have together, pray with them, cry with them, and share the horror and hilarities of life together. Then you say goodbye, move on, and hope that it is a small world after all. I had figured it out! I’m not cold hearted jerk! I’m just a TCK*!

Then I realized that I had people that would always be there.

I have my parents.

I have God.

And a whole lot of people do not have that.

It’s not that I’m cold, it is not even because I’m a TCK, it’s because I have security in valuable relationships. Because of that I don’t ever have to worry about being alone.
So I’m sorry if I ever seemed unfeeling. I’m not, just ignorant.

Peace be with you,
-naomii

*A third-culture kid (TCK / 3CK) or trans-culture kid is “someone who, as a child, has spent a significant period of time in one or more culture(s) other than his or her own, thus integrating elements of those cultures and their own birth culture, into a third culture.” ( wiki and “According o my passport I’m coming Home” by Kay Branaman Eakin)

Leave a Reply

